Switzerland Visa Policy

Switzerland Tourist Visa Policy

The Switzerland is a country which attracts many tourists who come either for business purposes or look for the leisure and further it attracts people who are newly married for honeymoon. The Visa policy Switzerland is tourist friendly but the norms are strict still the Swiss Embassies do issue most of the visa easily by the few norms. Now, the country adheres to the Schengen and Dublin agreements which has came into force since 12 December 2008. The Swiss representations are abroad to issue particularly two types of Visa which depends on the purpose of proposed stay. The Schengen Visa which is a Type C visa for the entry and stay of up-to 90 days within a period of 180 days.

On the context of tourism with a visit or the short term language studies along with employment and work permit is also granted whereas a type D Visa which is called the National Visa and is required for the longer stay in Switzerland which depending upon the time of year or the type of Visa the process takes several weeks or even months and the 22 out of 28 area are part of the Schengen countries of European Union.The Visa policy Switzerland has different rule for Schengen Visa, where the Visa application can be submitted with the three months before planned entry into Schengen area. The Visa is issued all along the subject of authorization and further the Canton migration authority who are competent enough to issue visa for the intended place of residence.

Switzerland Embassy also fulfills the Visa policy of Schengen area and do it on an immediate basis as most of the Visa process is based on internet procedure and the official site could be visited for understanding Visa Policy Switzerland. The holders of a long-term Visa or the residence permit is issued by a Schengen state or Monaco and one can also travel to other Schengen states through a common Visa.

The Switzerland Visa application requirements need certain papers and the EFTA Member State also is known to be a member of the Schengen area:

General requirements for a Swiss Schengen Visa Application:

. Download the application form and fill it completely. It could also be filled electrically and then print a hard copy.

. 2 Photos must be attached as the photo must be a passport format and a recent whole-face is captured with light background.

. Passport and the copies of previous Visa which is valid for at-least 3 months beyond the return date is required and the passport must have two blank pages.

. A copy of the return ticket reservation should be bought although it is not necessary in many cases so it should be discussed with the operator.

. The travel medical insurance also confirms a minimum of 30,000 Euros for the Switzerland and Schengen area.

. A cover later for stating the visit purpose needs to be included for fulfilling the Visa Policy Switzerland.

. Flight Itinerary and also proof of accommodation reservation along with proof of Civil status which are marriage certificate, birth certificate and ration card or any other valid identity is required.

. Proof of sufficient financial means such as enough cash in the bank or at least a 100 CHF or 92.34 Euro Per day amount is required to be in the account.

Thus, one could understand that Visa Policy Switzerland is strict and the full employment details along with educational details are required to make it clear the Visa status which helps in visiting the country for the specified period.


Schengen member states - Freedom of movement: European Union citizens, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, UK.

Visa-free access to the Schengen states for 90 days - Visa-free access: Canada, USA, Mexico, Australia, Japan , Malaysia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, United states, Mexico, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Colombia, Brazil, Paraguay, Chile, Argentina, Uruguay.

Visa required to enter the Schengen states: China, India, Nepal, Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Indonesia, Mongolia, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Oman, Turkey, Russia, Kazakhstan, Cuba, Bolivia, Western Sahara, Mauritania, Libya, Sudan, Zambia, Angola, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Botswana, South Africa, Madagascar.

Visa required for transit via the Schengen states : Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ghana, Nigeria, DRC, Ethiopia, Somalia, Eritrea, Ecuador, Guyana, Suriname.